Work/life balance

One thing I respected during my time working for a big international company was the work-life policy they had.
I learnt how important it is, for an organization, to respect its employees personal life.

Today is monday. I arrived at the office 20 minutes before time.
As usual, took out my coat and before I could sit down, someone approached me and say: “Hey Anderson, I have a favor to ask”.
of course my answer was “sure!”, but my real thinking was “can I sit down first?”

And it was not all.
The guy followed his request adding: “Yesterday I had to do some changes in the code…” Hey… wait a minute!!! Yesterday? it was sunday.

That made me think about the “work/life” policy I mentioned before. And that is a clear example about how japanese people priorize things in life.
The guy who came to me this morning is Japanese (of course), and married. He has a family to spend weekend with and the project is not even late.
I will not enter the merit of his personal relationship. Maybe he has problems… maybe not.
But anyway, this is not the first time it happens. I see that everyday in my company and some friends working for japanese companies also report the same situation happening with them.

Maybe it is only my company. Maybe I am unlucky.
Or maybe it is just an opportunity to lead a change in my company’s policy and introduce the work/life balance concept.

The big question is. Can they change their mind?
That we will see.

About Anderson Passos

Anderson teaches ICT and career related courses and is always searching for new ways of using technology in the classroom (for good or bad). His research interests include CRS, CALL and signal processing, among others.
This entry was posted in Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Work/life balance

  1. Miquel says:

    unfortunately no one can be told what the matrix is, you have to see it for yourself

  2. dns says:

    well, that doesnt happen in england. people here have a pint of booze to spend the weekend with, and they can’t live without that.

Comments are closed.