From amusement to deception

Last week I got my hands on a lot of old macintosh computer. Really old ones.

I started playing with the parts and came up with a really good power mac G4 800 Mhz with 1.2 Gb RAM and 80 Gb of HD.

I was amazed…
The feeling, the pleasure I was feeling to watch my achievement booting ip can not be described in words.
I don’t know why computer people (like me) likes to give life back to old computers/devices.

Anyway… My amusement lasted for a day. Today I realized what means to have a computer that is not supported anymore. Even to browse the Internet was a pain in the ass.

The problem: no more application for PPC macs.
The result: I just realized that I is easier to buy a new Mac and forget this bulshit

About Anderson Passos

Anderson teaches ICT and career related courses and is always searching for new ways of using technology in the classroom (for good or bad). His research interests include CRS, CALL and signal processing, among others.
This entry was posted in Gizmo, Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to From amusement to deception

  1. Miquel says:

    Quick comment: you know you can install ubuntu (ppc version supported) and then you can browse the web with an advanced browser like firefox, right?

  2. dns says:

    build a hackintosh.

    easiest way, dont build: get a dell laptop 1501 (i think 1525 also works) with amd processor etc, download ideneb 1.5 i think (it’s a special mac os 10.5.8 built with all the ‘drivers’ that machine needs). installs like ‘next next done’ and you have a leopard machine running. i did it, works like a charm. i have windows vista and osx on dual boot.
    follow this link: http://sites.google.com/site/osx1501/inspiron-1501-guide/mac-os-x-leopard

    there’s a ideneb with osx 10.6 but i havent tried 😛
    have fun 🙂

Comments are closed.