Old idea… new idea

UPDATE: HERITRIX was conceived in January 2004

It is not the first time it happens.

I started reading “a memory of webs past” by Arial Bleicher ( IEEE Spectrum pages 26-37), and though: “hey, I’ve done that before”.

The text narrates how HERITRIX, an archival crawler works. Although I have never gone further, my undergraduate thesis was written down in the text lines. And hey, I wrote it back in 2003, 6 years after the first archivers where developed and without any knowledge of their existence.

Could it be a sign that I should restart my old project?

My research (back in 2003) didn’t target archival of web content, but a novel method for indexing content. It could be very well suited for the archival task with some minor adjustments.

I was very pleased to see that the basics of such project are so similar to what I have had imagined.

Maybe it is time to go back to the drawing board.

About Anderson Passos

Anderson teaches ICT and career related courses and is always searching for new ways of using technology in the classroom (for good or bad). His research interests include CRS, CALL and signal processing, among others.
This entry was posted in General, Study, Work and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.