Room Monitoring

Here I am, bored with so much paperwork to do during the winter break that I decided to go back in time a little bit and work with hardware again. OK, it is not REALLY “working with hardware”, but at least I can remember good old times when I was riding a train for 2 hours in Tokyo in order to get to work.

Enough talking, I decided to build up a sensor for my university’s computer labs. It is pretty annoying that everyday someone from the administration comes to me complaining about lights that were left on or about the air-conditioning system’s temperature.

So here comes the Arduino to the rescue.
Arduino is a open hardware platform targeted to be used by beginners (here I am). My primary objective is to check whenever the room lights are on, if the air-con temperature is inadequate and also (as a bonus) the humidity in the room.

The parts I’ve used are listed below:

Below the pictures of this little project of mine:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Anderson Passos

Anderson teaches ICT and career related courses and is always searching for new ways of using technology in the classroom (for good or bad). His research interests include CRS, CALL and signal processing, among others.
This entry was posted in General, Thinkering, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Room Monitoring

  1. dnsmob says:

    que classico hein 😀
    e eu me achando por ter comprado um irobot roomba…

  2. dnsmob says:

    funciona!! 😀
    aquela coisa, nao vai fazer magica, mas e’ uma mao na roda. ao inves de aspirar toda semana eu mesmo, agora faco uma vez a cada dois meses. eu ponho pra cima tudo que tem no chao e ponho ele pra rodar todo final de semana. e’ excelente pra poeira e cabelos principalmente.

Comments are closed.